MX23RW : Friday, June 14 10:25:56| >> :600:88241588:88241588:

Emma Raducanu qualifies for US Open

Emma Raducanu qualifies for US Open
© Reuters
The 18-year-old beat Maya Sherif to reach the main draw at Flushing Meadows.

Britain’s Emma Raducanu has battled her way to the US Open first round.

The 18-year-old beat fourth seed Mayar Sherif 6-1 6-4 to qualify for the Flushing Meadows main draw.

Raducanu shot to fame by reaching Wimbledon’s fourth round in July, in a stunning first grand slam showing.

The fast-rising talent backed that up by reaching the final of the WTA Challenger event in Chicago last week.

And now Raducanu has fought through to the US Open first round proper.

Raducanu had kick-started her US Open qualifying bid by dispatching Holland’s Bibiane Schoofs 6-1 6-2, then ousted Georgia’s Mariam Bolkvadze 6-3 7-5 to reach the final round.

Another impressive victory has now allowed Raducanu to chalk off another milestone in her fledgling career.

Britain’s Katie Boulter also progressed with a 7-5 2-6 6-4 victory over Kristina Kucova.

Boulter delivered 10 aces as her serve proved the difference in a marathon match lasting two hours and 32 minutes.

Harriet Dart rounded out a successful day for Britain, qualifying for the main draw with a 6-7 (1) 6-1 6-3 win over Viktoriya Tomova of Bulgaria.

ID:461219:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2817:
Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Read more about Emma Raducanu Tennis
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 14
 
8pm
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!