MX23RW : Thursday, June 20 21:41:42| >> :600:2235320:2235320:

Xander Schauffele holds nerve to win US PGA Championship

Schauffele holds nerve to win US PGA Championship
© Reuters
Xander Schauffele holes a birdie putt on the final hole to win the US PGA Championship at Valhalla.

Xander Schauffele has finally ended his wait for a major title by recording a one-shot victory at the US PGA Championship.

The 30-year-old had led from the opening round at Valhalla but he was left requiring a 6ft 2in putt on the final hole to secure the biggest win of his career.

A firm putt just about hung onto the inside of the hole, allowing the American to finally join the winners' circle in a major competition and edge out Bryson DeChambeau in the process.

Having posted four birdies during his first nine holes on Sunday, Schauffele looked in control at the turn, yet a bogey at the par-five 10th let in his rivals.

Birdies at 11 and 12 would help restore some order, but each of Dechambeau and Viktor Hovland remained hot on his tail as they realistically looked to set up a playoff at best.

DeChambeau did what he could, holing a putt from 10ft 9ins on the last to move to 20-under, but he was powerless to deny his compatriot.

Who finished where in the chasing pack?

Hovland had been level with DeChambeau heading into the final hole, only for the Norwegian to three-putt and ultimately finish three shots adrift of Schauffele.

Thomas Detry and Collin Morikawa earned a share of four, while Justin Rose and Shane Lowry would finish in a tie for sixth after only shooting rounds of 69 and 70 on Sunday.

World number one Scottie Scheffler - three days on from his well-documented arrest - concluded his eventful stay in Louisville with a 65, finishing level in eighth with Justin Thomas, Billy Horschel and Robert MacIntyre.

Rory McIlroy was among several players one shot further adrift in 12th, level with Sahith Theegala who was the biggest underperformer of the day as he only posted a 73.

ID:544102:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect3531:
Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Scottie Scheffler during win at RBC Heritage on April 21, 2024.
Read Next:
Scheffler seals RBC Heritage win - what does it do for World Golf Rankings?
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!