MX23RW : Tuesday, June 18 06:54:08| >> :120:83817:83817:

Bearman insists he's ready for F1 without Magnussen

Bearman insists he's ready for F1 without Magnussen
© Reuters
Oliver Bearman states confidently that he doesn't require assistance from Kevin Magnussen to adapt to the Formula 1 world.

Oliver Bearman states confidently that he doesn't require assistance from Kevin Magnussen to adapt to the Formula 1 world.

Despite Magnussen, 31, also facing uncertainty about his job at Haas beyond 2024, he recently mentioned that he wouldn't be looking to aid 18-year-old Bearman in acclimatizing to F1.

A British driver and now a frequent participant in Friday practices for Haas through his ties with Ferrari's F1 driver academy, Bearman recently turned heads by standing in for the ill Carlos Sainz at Ferrari with a point-scoring performance on debut, further solidifying his prospects for a full-time Haas seat in 2025 - replacing Nico Hulkenberg who is moving to Audi-Sauber.

Earlier this month, when asked about possibly having a very young teammate like Bearman next year, Magnussen, who is a father, remarked, "I'm not really here to take care of young people. I do that at home. Hopefully the driver in the other car is competent, professional and consistent, just like Nico has been. And we'll see if I'll be in the other one."

Addressing these comments in Monaco, Bearman affirmed his independence, "I don't need anyone to look after me. I can do that myself. My plan is simple - to be at the front in Formula 2 and show that I can be a title contender," he shared with Speed Week. "And to convince Haas in my six Friday practices that I'm the right man for them."

Despite a strong showing in Sainz's Ferrari at Jeddah, Bearman understands the uncertainties of securing a fixed spot in Formula 1.

"I know that just because I have a good race doesn't guarantee me a regular place in Formula 1," he expressed. "I have to earn it."

ID:544490:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2219:

Click here for more stories about Kevin Magnussen

Click here for more stories about Haas

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Ferrari's Oliver Bearman during qualifying on March 8, 2024
Read Next:
Bearman looks set to join Haas for 2025
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!