MX23RW : Friday, June 14 19:45:51| >> :600:91757466:91757466:

Jordan Spieth rues a couple of "dumb mistakes"

Jordan Spieth rues a couple of
© Reuters
The 2017 Open champion finished runner-up to Collin Morikawa.

Open runner-up Jordan Spieth blamed a couple of "dumb mistakes" at the end of his third round for costing him the chance of winning a second Claret Jug.

The 2017 champion was 11 under when he walked onto the 17th tee on Saturday, the same score as eventual champion Collin Morikawa.

However, he bogeyed both – missing a par putt on the last from a couple of feet – and he left the course, after a 45-minute session on the putting green, furious with himself.

Jordan Spieth pulls his cap down over his eyes
Spieth missed a short par putt on the 18th green on Saturday night which sent him home angry (Gareth Fuller/PA)

"The finish yesterday was about as upset as I've taken a finish of a round to the house," he said after a round of 66 which matched that of Morikawa's on the last day at Royal St George's.

"I walked in and said 'Is there something that I can break?' I knew that was so important because I would have been in the final group.

"So I'm upset because I really felt like I played well enough to win and made a couple of really dumb mistakes that possibly if I had maybe played the week before, wouldn't have made.

"Like just stepping in and missing a couple footer on 18 yesterday, not really thinking about it.

"I finished two-over on those holes, which what was frustrating as it would have been three of us (plus overnight leader Louis Oosthuizen) separated by at least three shots from the field and I would have been in the final group.

"So it was kind of a double whammy there. But at the same time, I did everything I could in the past few hours to win this championship.

"What good does it do to be upset? You come out today (thinking) 'Yes, I should be leading the tournament'. That's how I felt.

"But now I get to play with a chaser's mentality, which sometimes can be with a bit more freedom."

ID:455896: cacheID:455896:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:4356:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Rory McIlroy pictured at the Open on July 17, 2021
Read Next:
Rory McIlroy hopes Olympics helps his game
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!