MX23RW : Friday, June 14 19:50:32| >> :120:44824:44824:

Miami GP boycott 'not for me to decide' - Hamilton

Miami GP boycott 'not for me to decide' - Hamilton
© Reuters
Lewis Hamilton likened Florida to Saudi Arabia as he touched down for this weekend's grand prix in Miami.

Lewis Hamilton likened Florida to Saudi Arabia as he touched down for this weekend's grand prix in Miami.

When asked about recent Florida legislation aimed to minimise children's exposure to transgender education in particular, the seven time world champion said: "It's not good at all."

"I support the community here," the Mercedes driver is quoted as saying by La Presse.

"I hope they will continue to fight. I will have the rainbow on my helmet. It's no different from when we were in Saudi Arabia."

Some, including Hamilton, questioned whether Formula 1 should travel to Saudi Arabia for similar political reasons, but he stopped short of saying the sport he represents should boycott Miami.

"It's not for me to decide," said the 38-year-old Briton.

"I have heard and read some of the decisions made here - I don't agree with them and I don't support them. It's not the people of Miami who make these decisions, it's the government people."

ID:513101:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect1256:

Click here for more stories about Lewis Hamilton

Click here for more stories about Mercedes

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Charles Leclerc at the Azerbaijan GP on April 28, 2023
Read Next:
Ferrari struggle 'different' in 2023 - Leclerc
>
Read more about Lewis Hamilton Formula 1
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!