MX23RW : Friday, June 14 19:17:49| >> :120:42861:42861:

Miami 'F1 team boss parade' idea scrapped

Miami 'F1 team boss parade' idea scrapped
© Reuters
Formula 1 has rejected a push to organise a 'team boss parade' ahead of the inaugural and highly anticipated Miami GP.

Formula 1 has rejected a push to organise a 'team boss parade' ahead of the inaugural and highly anticipated Miami GP.

The sport's next stop in 2022 will be the streets of the beachside city in Florida, with McLaren's American boss Zak Brown predicting it will rival "the Super Bowl".

At the same time, there is pushback against the Americanisation of F1, including the dramatised Drive to Survive Netflix series and similar measures like the 'fake' harbour in Miami for which luxury boats had to be craned into place.

"This idea and execution is a perfect metaphor for what F1 is becoming," one Twitter user commented.

One proposed measure - a driver parade-style lap of honour for the team principals - has even been scrapped ahead of this weekend's first Miami race.

"I don't want to be disrespectful to the team bosses," Daniel Ricciardo is quoted by Speed Week, "but it's a bit of a strange idea, isn't it?

"I don't want to take their moment of glory away from them, but I thought that was a little over the top."

Indeed, the idea has not been included on the official Miami program, reportedly after top bosses including Toto Wolff and Christian Horner said no.

"I don't think there should be such an event with team bosses waving at the crowd like that," Mercedes' Wolff said.

"Don't get me wrong, I love the fans, but I want the drivers to be in the spotlight. They are the athletes, they are the gladiators - not us."

ID:484786:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2122:

Click here for more stories about Toto Wolff

Click here for more stories about Mercedes

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Lewis Hamilton pictured on April 22, 2022
Read Next:
Hamilton may quit Mercedes mid-season - Villeneuve
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!