MX23RW : Monday, June 24 12:02:01| >> :600:43721669:43721669:

Belgian Paralympian Marieke Vervoort denies planning to kill herself after Rio

Belgian wheelchair racer Marieke Vervoort denies reports that she will kill herself after the Paralympics in Rio.

Belgian wheelchair racer Marieke Vervoort has denied reports that she intends to kill herself following the Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

The 37-year-old suffers from an incurable degenerative muscle disease, which causes pain and seizures, as well as paralysis in her legs.

It was reported in the Belgian media prior to the Games that Vervoot, who signed euthanasia papers in 2008, will end her own life once she has competed.

However, the Paralympian claimed in a press conference this week that she is "still enjoying" life and is not ready to die.

"When the moment comes when I have more bad days than good days, then I have my euthanasia papers, but the time is not there yet," Vervoort told reporters.

The athlete won a silver medal in the 400m final on Saturday.

ID:281140: cacheID:281140:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:1488:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Sports Mole logo
Read Next:
Pearson named ParalympicsGB flagbearer
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
 
8pm
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!