MX23RW : Friday, June 21 01:06:38| >> :120:47936:47936:

Jofra Archer returns as England beat Pakistan in second T20 international

Archer returns as England beat Pakistan in second T20
© Reuters
Jofra Archer makes his long-awaited return for England in a 23-run victory over Pakistan in the second T20 international at Edgbaston.

England have commenced their summer fixtures with a 23-run victory over Pakistan in the second T20 international.

After the first fixture was washed out courtesy of the wet weather, there was extra importance on Saturday's game at Edgbaston, with Jofra Archer making his first outing for over 14 months.

The pace bowler delivered 2-28 from his four overs after Jos Buttler's 84 with the bat, with the pair playing key roles as England bowled out Pakistan for 160.

Having won the toss, Pakistan put their hosts into bat, and the early breakthrough was made when Phil Salt (13) went at the start of the fourth over.

However, Will Jacks arrived at the crease to put on a 71-run partnership alongside Buttler before departing for 37 from just 23 balls, putting the onus on Buttler to kick on.

Buttler stars in Birmingham

With Jonny Bairstow (21) one of only two other England batsmen to reach double figures, the other being Archer with 12, England's captain hit 84 from 51 deliveries in a knock that included three maximums.

After seeing England reach 183-7, Pakistan were dealt an abysmal start as Mohammad Rizwan departed for a third-ball duck, Saim Ayub soon following for two.

Babar Azam (32) and Fakhar Zaman (45) blasted nine fours and three sixes between them to keep Pakistan in the match, yet wickets were being lost at regular intervals.

Six England bowlers chipped in with wickets, with Reece Topley the pick with 3-41, but Moeen Ali's 2-26 on familiar territory for the veteran all-rounder also proved crucial.

Pakistan lost their final wicket with four balls remaining ahead of the third of fourth matches taking place in Cardiff on Tuesday night.

ID:544514:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect3487:
Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
England captain Jos Buttler playing against South Africa on January 29, 2023.
Read Next:
Star name returns to England squad for T20 World Cup
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!