MX23RW : Friday, June 14 19:53:04| >> :120:24293:24293:

Australia edge fifth Ashes Test away from England

Australia edge fifth Ashes Test away from England
© Reuters
England are on course to fail in their bid to level the Ashes series with Australia after failing to take a wicket on a rain-disrupted fourth day of the fifth Test.

England appear to be on the brink of losing the Ashes series with Australia after enduring a frustrating fourth day of the fifth Test at The Oval.

Rather than declare on their overnight score of 389-9, England surprisingly batted on and added a further six runs, setting Australia a target of 384.

With the rain that was forecast for the afternoon and evening, plus a mixed outlook for Monday's play, it was imperative that England made early inroads in Australia's second innings.

However, the Baggy Greens came through 38 overs of play unscathed, making 135-0 in the process and leaving England with a near-impossible task on a flat batting wicket on day five.

After announcing his retirement from cricket on Saturday, Stuart Broad had hoped to bow out in style, and he did to a certain extent with his final runs in the sport coming from a six.

Nevertheless, that was as good as it got for the veteran and his teammates who failed to create much of note with the ball as Usman Khawaja and David Warner dominated.

While the latter made 58 from 99 deliveries, hitting nine fours, Khawaja posted 69 from 130 balls, neither batsmen looking overawed as they edged Australia closer to their first series triumph in England for 22 years.

As it stands, a full session may be possible in the morning, but the afternoon looks likely to be disrupted before a clearer passage of play in the evening.

ID:519888:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2560:

Click here for more stories about Stuart Broad

Click here for more stories about England

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Australia celebrate taking an England wicket during the fifth Ashes Test on July 27, 2023.
Read Next:
Australia enjoy better of first day of fifth Ashes Test
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!