MX23RW : Monday, June 24 09:09:49| >> :600:59179101:59179101:

England win badminton bronze at Commonwealth Games

England win bronze in the badminton mixed team event at the 2018 Commonwealth Games courtesy of a 3-0 win over Singapore.

England have won the bronze medal in the badminton mixed team event at the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

England faced Singapore in their bronze medal match on the Gold Coast this afternoon after both teams lost their semi-finals to Malaysia and India respectively.

However, England needed only three matches of their best-of-five contest to wrap up the final place on the podium, beating Singapore 3-0.

Marcus Ellis and Lauren Smith won the first leg in the mixed doubles before Rajiv Ouseph came from behind to make it two wins from two in a high-scoring affair against Kean Yew Loh.

That left Singapore needing to win the men's doubles in order to keep their medal hopes alive, but the English duo of Ellis and Chris Langridge - bronze medallists in Glasgow four years ago and again at the Rio Olympics - came out on top 2-1 to clinch victory for England.

The gold and silver medals will be decided later today when India take on Malaysia in the final.

ID:323009: cacheID:323009:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:2519:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Generic image of the Gold Coast
Read Next:
Interview: Silver medallist Tom Bosworth
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
 
8pm
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!