MX23RW : Monday, June 24 12:24:39| >> :600:70154937:70154937:

J.J. Spaun earns Masters spot with Valero Texas Open win

American J.J. Spaun earns the final Masters spot with victory at the Valero Texas Open, his first win on the PGA Tour.

J.J. Spaun has recorded a two-shot victory at the Valero Texas Open, winning his first PGA Tour event and also earning a spot in next week's Masters.

The American's solitary runner-up spot in a PGA Tour competition came five years ago, and he has subsequently dropped down to 242nd in the World Golf Rankings.

However, the 31-year-old capped off a consistent tournament with a final-round 69, the win made all the more impressive having started Sunday with a double bogey.

Spaun will now make his way to Augusta for the first major of the year, where he may be joined by Tiger Woods who is contemplating whether to make his first professional start since suffering two broken legs in a car accident in February last year.

Matt Jones and Matt Kuchar earned a share of second place, while Canada's Adam Hadwin was among a group of four players in fourth position after shooting a 65.

Henrik Stenson, who has recently been named as the 2023 European Ryder Cup captain, ended in a share of 18th place, which represents his best finish on the PGA Tour for over two years.

Englishmen Richard Bland and Aaron Rai both finished in a tie for 29th spot after recording closing rounds of 72 and 73 respectively.

ID:482367:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2234:

Click here for more stories about J.J. Spaun

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Tiger Woods pictured during a practice round ahead of The Masters on November 11, 2020
Read Next:
Tiger Woods to make late call on Masters
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
 
8pm
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!