MX23RW : Friday, June 14 19:54:02| >> :600:24192480:24192480:

Tyson Fury invites criticism if he loses to UFC star Francis Ngannou

Fury invites criticism if he loses to Ngannou
© Reuters
WBC heavyweight champion Tyson Fury says that he will deserve any criticism that comes his way if he loses to UFC legend Francis Ngannou in a boxing ring.

Tyson Fury has acknowledged that he would be 'ridiculed' if he lost to UFC legend Francis Ngannou when they meet in a boxing ring.

Earlier this year, there had been hope and expectation that an undisputed clash between WBC heavyweight champion Fury and IBF, WBA and WBO title-holder Oleksandr Usyk would take place in the Middle East.

Instead, a showdown between Fury - who will not be defending his belt - and Ngannou - who does not hold a professional boxing record - is due to be held in Saudi Arabia on October 28.

Despite the attention and money that the fight will attract, the event has received widespread criticism with the perception being that Fury has little chance of losing his unbeaten record despite Ngannou's reputation as a knockout artist in MMA.

That view has often been countered by Queensberry - Fury's promoters - yet the 35-year-old has insisted that he would "deserve" to be laughed at if he lost to Ngannou next month.

Speaking to reporters at a press conference, as quoted by BBC Sport, Fury said: "If I lose to an MMA guy I'll never be able to show my face in public again. It's going to ridicule me - people will chuck it at me forever.

"There's more riding on this than ever before. Whether the media want to take it as a joke, make no mistake Tyson Fury will leave zero stones unturned and I will come in as my fittest and strongest I've ever been to defeat this man.

"If I'm not and I get knocked out, then I want you all to laugh at me. That's what I want, because I deserve it."

A clash for the British heavyweight title, pending official permission from the BBCofC, between Fabio Wardley and David Adeleye is scheduled for the undercard.

However, a brawl between their respective teams at the press conference led to champion Wardley receiving what appeared to be a minor cut to the left side of his eye.

ID:523528:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect3240:

Click here for more stories about Tyson Fury

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Tyson Fury celebrating after defeating Deontay Wilder on October 9, 2021.
Read Next:
Fury, Ngannou fight confirmed for Saudi Arabia
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Saturday, June 15
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 16
 
5pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 17
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!